Rotary District 9980 Conference 2021



Friday 19 March 2021

Waimate Event Centre


4.00 pm: Registration desk opens, drinks, nibbles, and fellowship

6.15 pm: Master of Ceremonies Allan Laurie and Jamie McKenzie call the attendees to order, and introductions

6.20 pm: Kapa Haka / Powhiri

6.35 pm: Opening Welcome from District Governor Dylan Murray

6.45 pm: Mayor Craig Rowley – Welcome Speech  

6.55 pm: Andrew Tombs – Principal Sponsor, Alpine Energy Chief Executive Officer

7.20 pm: Waimate Choir

7.35 pm – 9.00 pm: Drinks, nibbles, and fellowship continue


Saturday 20 March 2021

Waimate Event Centre


7.30 am: Registrations open, and bacon butties available

8.15 am: Master of Ceremonies call the conference to order

8.45 am: Dame Therese Maria Walsh DNZM

10.00 am: Rotary International President Holger Knaack- Recorded Message

10.10 am: Cutting of Centennial Cake

10.20 am: Morning Tea

10.50 am: Dave McKissock – Rotary House Build Project

11.15 am: Group Captain Carol J Abraham MSS, BSc(Hons) awc, psc(j), RNZAF

12.10 pm: Lunch

1.00 pm: Call to Order

1.10 pm: Kirsten Patterson, LLB, CFHRINZ, MInstD  

2.00 pm: Depart for Point Bush Eco-Sanctuary

2.35 pm: Presentation by Eco-Sanctuary Trust

3.20 pm: Activity Options – Walk, Bike. Days for Girls

4:30 pm: Depart activities

4:30 – 6.00 pm: Free time

6.00 pm: Pre- dinner drinks and fellowship

7.00 pm: Master of Ceremonies calls the evening to order.

7.05 pm: Main course

7.45 pm: District Governor Dylan Murray Presents Best Dressed Award

7.50 pm: Auction

8.10 pm: Dessert

9.00 pm- till late: Party featuring entertainment -Double Talk



Sunday 21 March 2021

Waimate Event Centre


7.30 am: Bacon Butties Available

8.30 am:  Master of Ceremonies calls conference to order,

                Remembrance Ceremony

8.50 am: Rotary Youth Exchange students

9.15 am: Rotary Youth Leadership Award experience

9.35 am: Christine Hurley - Rotary Give Every Child A Future - our international centenary project.

10.00 am: Morning Tea

10.25 am: Rotary District Speech Contest

11.10 am: Stephanie Woodall – Seven Women (Virtual)

12.05 pm: Winners of Speech Contest Announced

12.15 pm: District Governor Elect – Nick Wood

12.25 am: District Governor Dylan Murray - District Awards, closing remarks and acknowledgements.

12.45 pm: Te Wera King - closes the conference

1.00 pm:  District AGM